Curried Acorn and Butternut Squash Soup (plus unrelated pictures)

An up and down  week, little motivation in the kitchen (let’s face it, I’m afraid to try and surpass the greatness that was my last post), and a commotion of decisions, decisions, decisions have left whatever faithful readers I have without anything since Sunday. On Sunday, I made a lovely, warming curried winter squash soup with goat cheese crostini.

Curried Squash Soup

1 large sweet onion

1 acorn squash, peeled and cubed

1 butternut squash, peeled and cubed

2 cloves of garlic (or 3 small cloves)

6 cups of chicken or vegetable stock

1-2 tablespoons of butter

1 shot, or a long turn about the stock pot, of nonfat half and half (if you really want to, please use cream).

Curry powder, about 1 to 3 tablespoons

Two to three shakes of the garam masala (love my new measuring technique?)

Fresh Thyme

Pinch of nutmeg

Peel the squash. Once you’ve completed this task, congratulate yourself if you’re not missing any fingers (it was a close call). Rough chop the onion, sweat with butter, olive oil, and spices until onions are translucent. Add garlic. Add the stock. Add the squash. Bring to a boil, and then let simmer for about 20 minutes. Or until the squash is tender. Add the cream/half and half/ or preferred dairy and some freshly minced thyme and small pinch of nutmeg. Let the soup cool a bit, then using an immersion blender, blend soup to desired consistency. You can also use a regular blender: carefully ladle warm soup to the blender. Blend in batches. Serve with goat cheese smeared crostini. If not consumed all in the same evening, the soup makes delicious left overs. It can also be frozen and reheated for a weeknight or quick meal.

Let me tell you about it, because in all my cooking and soup making delight, I forgot to take pictures. Imagine a beautiful warm, perfectly mad for fall orange. Smell a blend of thyme, curry, garam masala, and a little bit of nutmeg (yup, I said nutmeg). Acorn squash. Butter nut squash. Fresh chicken stock (from the previous night’s roasted chicken).On the side, whole grain sunflower-flax seed bread, broiled in the oven until crispy crunchy and spread with creamy goat cheese and herbs.

I am only sorry that I didn’t take pictures. Maybe next time…when I heat up the frozen left overs on a weeknight.

This weekend, I’ll keep promises not kept last weekend. That is also known as the Plum Kuchen. Tomorrow my parents are in town, and per request, I’ll be remaking the carbonara. However, I’ve been craving something with an Indian flare. Time to revive those memories and skill acquired from my Indian cooking class in Paris.

For the lack of photos, I leave with some highlights from the year’s travels.

 

Hello hot chocolate from Cafe de Flore on St. Germain, have I told you lately that I love you?

 


Lovely, beautiful, romantic Heidelberg Castle. I'm honored to say I was born in your shadow.

And last but certainly not least, the daily dose of cuteness.

Parker

Share your thoughts

