Plum Kuchen

Every Plum Kuchen recipe I found required a yeast dough -something I wasn’t in the mood to deal with yesterday. Then I came across a kuchen recipe in my latest Cooking Light, which I’ve adapted below. If plum season weren’t over (as in, I went to the store to buy more plums and the selection was disheartening), I would try this again, but with more plums. Therefore, the recipe below has been increased to reflect my lessons learned. Even with a the fewer plums, this recipe was devoured by party goers over the weekend. And then left overs were devoured by Casey and me. Very tasty.

Yeast Free Plum Kuchen

6 large plums (I used a combination of red and black plums), pitted, halved, then sliced into thin wedges

1 teaspoon fresh lemon zest

1 cup granulated sugar

1/4 teaspoon salt

6.75 ounces (or about 1 1/2 cups) all purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 cup butter

3 ounces Greek yogurt

2 large eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

2/3 cup nonfat buttermilk

Cooking spray

Preheat the oven to 350. Toss the plums with lemon zest and about 1/4 cup of sugar. You can use less, I certainly did. Put the plums aside. Combine flour, salt, and baking powder in a bowl. Combine well. Mix the remaining 3/4 cup sugar, 6 tablespoons butter, and yogurt in a bowl. Combine until well mixed. Add the eggs, beating well. Stir in the vanilla extract. Add flour mixture and buttermilk alternately, starting and ending with flour. Beat together until just combined.

Pour batter into a 13×9 metal (or glass, if you don’t have metal) pan, coated with cooking spray. Arrange the plums over the batter. Melt remaining 2 tablespoons butter and brush over the plums. Bake at 350 for 45 minutes, or until set.


3 comments
  1. Nancy said:

    Looks scrumptious. I may attempt to make 🙂

    Like

  2. Mom said:

    This doesn’t Lund like na enthusiastic endorsement

    Like

Share your thoughts

