Caramelized Onion and Rosemary Potates

At work, a cube-mate and I were discussing the joy of onions: their wonderful sweetness when cooked, the delicious sweet and tangy crisp of raw red onions. I’ll be quite honest and say that I never understand when people tell me they don’t like onions. I’m wholly unsure what I would do without them. Most soups, pastas, rice dishes…nearly everything we eat on a normal basis start with onions. I haven’t worked them into a dessert yet, but if anyone has an enterprising onions for dessert recipes – I’ll try it!

After the conversation, I naturally had a hankering for delicious, caramelized onions. In the refrigerator were a few varieties of potatoes – thankfully some Yukon golds, as I find their starch content the best for mashing. I know…the 5lb bag is about one dollar more than the 10lbs bag of russets, but who am I kidding? As a two-person, one-kitty household, we vary out diet enough that a 10 lbs bag eventually goes bad. Together with some fresh (or dried rosemary) and a little butter and milk, these potatoes were heavenly. Honestly, all Mondays should end this well. Maybe then they wouldn’t have as bad of a wrap?

Caramelized Onion and Rosemary Mashed Potatoes

1 medium yellow or sweet onion, sliced in half moons

1 tsp raw organic sugar (or regular granulated sugar will do as well)

1 tablespoon rosemary (dried)

1 tablespoon (or so) butter

Salt and Pepper

1 cup of milk, warmed in the microwave (might need more, depending)

3 lbs of potatoes

Follow these steps to deliciousness:

1. First things first: get those potatoes washed, roughly diced, and boiling in a large stock pot. With the Yukon potatoes, the skins can be left on, just be sure to cut away and large bruises. Boil the potatoes until soft. Depending on the size of your diced potatoes, this could take 10 or 15 minutes. I like to dice them smaller so they cook faster.

2. Once the potatoes are boiling, get a non-stick saute pan and about 1 tablespoon olive oil. Heat the olive oil and add the onions. Saute on low to medium heat until translucent, sprinkling with the sugar and pinch of salt and pepper (more pepper than salt). Saute until the onion starts to brown slightly, then remove from heat. Or if you like your caramelized onions more on the crispy side, continue to saute until desire taste. Set aside.

3. Drain the potatoes and return to stock pot. Add 1 tablespoon butter and cup milk. Using a potato masher (or a hand mixer if you prefer), mash the potatoes to desire consistency. I leave mine slightly rustic, usually because I get bored with mashing. Casey is an excellent potato masher whose work rivals what can be done with a hand mixer (no, I will not lend him out for potato mashing). Once mashed, add the rosemary and onions and fold into the potatoes. Salt and pepper to taste.

4. Serve warm as a side dish. Eat alone as a snack. However you eat them, enjoy them! Update: or, eat them as a side dish to pork chops marinated in scrumptious Made By Bees* Habanero Basil Mustard.

*For those who live in Arizona, of course. For those who don’t…check out their website, or find your own local honey purveyor. Also, as a disclaimer, I am not in the employ of Made by Bees. I’m only recommending them because I truly enjoy their product(s).
3 comments
    • Katie said:

      Thanks! I’m looking forward to seeing all the other exciting recipes!

      Like

Share your thoughts

