Memorial Day Simplicity

You know I love ice cream, but even more in the summer. And nothing says start of summer than a beautiful memorial day and a bowl of ice cream and fresh berries to kick off summer. My first experience with vanilla ice cream and hot berries, known as Vanille-Eis mit heissen Himbeeeren (vanilla ice cream with hot raspberries), was in Germany as a child. I remember my Omi making this for special occasions, and even having it served as at her sixtieth birthday.

Funny right, that dessert is the one thing I remember from that occasion? What can I say, I’m a big fan of dessert. I haven’t met too many people who aren’t. Except maybe Casey, which works out perfectly, because that means more dessert for me. And more Zumba later in the week to work off all the dessert. Which sounds like a perfect combination.

This dessert is an instant classic. A dessert that pleases all parties, can be made with some freezer or produce basics, and is perfect for those evenings when you need a simple dessert that is both elegant and delicious. It’s also versatile. Make it with raspberries, or black berries (shown above), or strawberries. Add some mint. Delicious!

And it’s easy. I know. I know. I know. You’re probably thinking…she says this about everything. But literally, I swear to you, this is the easiest dessert you’ll make. And like stated above, it’ll impress.


Vanilla Ice Cream with Hot Berries

Vanilla Ice Cream (enough for four people). Homemade if you have an ice cream maker, unlike yours truly, who does not.

2-4 oz blackberries or raspberries

1 – 1/2 tablespoons organic sugar

Over medium heat, mix the berries and the sugar. Allow the sugar and berries to meld together until the berries soften and the sugar and juice combine, about 8 to 10 minutes. You can cook the berries less time or more, depending on the consistency you want.

When you’re ready to take the berries off the heat, prepare the ice cream in individual bowls. Pour the berries evenly over four separate bowls of ice cream. Serve immediately.

Enjoy. My favorite part is the combination of cool, creamy ice cream with warm, sweet berries. Wonderful for a hot summer day.

Share your thoughts

