Hello Yellow. Sunny Summer Squash Soup.

First, I must be crazy. We hit 104 this weekend and I’m making soup. My defense: it’s a summer squash soup, with a bright yellow colour that is nearly as inviting as the warm afternoon sun. Second, I love soup. Therefore, why shouldn’t I make soup, regardless of the temperature? Afterall, I’m the one who is eating it. And you can too, if you want.

To be honest, I’ve never been a big fan of summer squash, or it’s green cousin zucchini. Sure, I’ve sauteed it, roasted it, grilled it, grated it with scrambled eggs, but it’s not my favorite vegetable. Well, I think I’ve changed my mind about summer squash and I’ll certainly be eating this throughout the season. Even if it is hot enough to scramble eggs on the pavement, as it was this past weekend.

Summer Squash Soup,adapted from Sarah Moulton’s Everyday Family Dinners

2 pounds yellow squash

1 yellow bell pepper

4 medium carrots

2 medium Yukon gold potatoes (about 1/2 pound)

1 medium onion

2 Tablespoons unsalted butter

2 Tablespoons yellow curry powder. Or Madras Curry powder for some extra spice

5 1/2 cups vegetable or chicken broth. Low Sodium if you have. Homemade preferred

 

1. Wash and dice the squash into about 1/2 inches. Cut the bell pepper into a similar dice. Peel and cut the carrots into 1/2 inch dice. Wash and cut the potato.

2. Melt the butter in a large stock pot. While the butter melts, roughly chop the onions. Over medium-low heat, add the onion and 1/2 teaspoon salt and curry powder and cook until the onion has softened and is lightly translucent. About five minutes.

3. Add the squash, bell pepper, carrots, and potato that you so diligently chopped ahead of time. Add the vegetable stock, then bring to boil over high heat. Reduce the heat to low, allowing the vegetables to cook until tender, about 15 to 20 minutes. Remove the stock pot from heat and allow to cool.

4. Using an immersion blender, blend the soup to desired consistency. I liked mine slightly thicker.

5. Serve the soup garnish with basil leave.

*If the summer heat is too incredible to even fathom eating warm soup, then try it cold. Prior to chilling and serving, making sure you’ve fully blended the soup. Then put the soup through a thin mesh sieve to make sure the soup is silky smooth.

 

2 comments

Share your thoughts

