Saturday Tart…

I’m certain I’m not the only who wakes up on weekend mornings and thinks to oneself, “Today I’ll make a fruit tart.” The luscious raspberries from the weekly grocer’s insert prompted my determination. I already had in mind what I do for the filling, forgoing a traditional pastry crème for mascarpone whipped with vanilla and sugar.

sometimes, you plan your day around executing a delicious dessert.

Tart Shell adapted from David Lebovitz’s recipe for pre-baked tart shel

This was my first experience with this recipe – a tart shell that does not require being weighted down during pre-baking. I’ll admit, I was nervous at first, but the tip to press down the tart bottom with a metal spatula did work. Imagine my surprise?

6 tablespoons unsalted butter, at room temperature

1/4 cup sugar

1 large egg yolk

1 cup flour

1/8 teaspoon salt.

Beat the butter and sugar on a low speed until smooth. Add the egg yolk and combine. Add the flour and salt until everything comes together into a smooth dough. As with all pastry dough – don’t over mix! Place the dough in a 9-inch tart pan with a removable bottom. Using your hand, smooth out the dough across the bottom of the pan. Freeze the dough for at least 1 hour. Preheat the oven to 375. Prick the bottom of the tart with a fork – at least 10 times. Bake the tart for about 7 minutes, checking to see if the bottom has puffed up. Continue to bake until a deep brown, about 15 to 20 minutes more.Mascarpone Cream from Gourmet, 2009

1 pound of mascarpone cheese

1/4 cup confectioners sugar

1 tsp lemon juice

3/4 tsp vanilla extract

Whisk together the above ingredients until the cream stiffens. Spread this on the bake tart shell. Top the tart with raspberries – as many or as little as you please, and in a pattern that pleases you. I topped the tart with a drizzle off honey, which added a little sweetness to the tart.



6 comments
  1. Sasha said:

    This is gorgeous. I love making tarts – well galettes technically, since I don’t currently own a tart pan with a removable bottom. And I always use the same recipe for the shell.
    This recipe sounds so easy. I’m thinking it would be a good idea to add some ground toasted almonds to the shell. It might intensify the crunch factor.

    Like

  2. I’ve never made a galette, but it’s on my list. Any favorites?

    As for the almonds…I think it would give it extra crunch and also an intriguing layer of flavor. If you make it, let me know how it goes 🙂

    Like

Share your thoughts

