Caramelized Onion Galette

Looking for a lighter dinner after Thanksgiving and the delicious left overs that ensued? (Speaking of which, I made fantastic split pea soup again using the ham hock from Thanksgiving. If you decide to do this though – don’t add any salt, and use low sodium broth. The ham will salt the soup a plenty).

Back to a meal on the lighter side. Sasha and I went back and forth about galettes a few weeks back and I’ve finally gotten around to making it. I used her recipe as the base, however subbed the blue cheese for a creamy chèvre, and left out the thyme. For future variations, I’m considering the following:

  • add thyme, rosemary, or a similar “woody” herb to the crust. I feel like this will give the crust a depth of flavor it was missing from my interpretation.
  • finish with a balsamic drizzle. I’m still nursing a bottle of 17 year old, deliciously sweet and tangy balsamic vinegar, gifted to me by my fantastic mother.
  • the balsamic drizzle was suggested by a friend’s younger sibling, who is currently attending SCI here in the valley. There was also something about adding a citrus zest if I use thyme or rosemary in the crust, but I’m contemplating this one

What I appreciated most about this dish was that even though the cook time (roughly 40 minutes) was long for a weeknight, that 40 minutes was actually spent reading a book and relaxing with a glass of wine. A remarkably versatile dish, the galette can be both savory and sweet. I’ve seen recipes call for filling the galette with thinly sliced potatoes and sautéed leeks and greens to pitted cherries cooked in a little kirsch and sugar.

This caramelized onion version brings enough warmth for a cool, south-western evening. Paired with a green salad, it’s a light ending to a day. I think it would also be rather classy for a ladies luncheon, since many (non vegetarian) men I know aren’t as amenable to a vegetarian meals as Casey is.

 

2 comments
  1. Sasha said:

    Oh, nice! Glad you liked it. I love the thyme-in-the-crust idea but aged balsamic might be a bit much. Worth a try, though!

    Like

Share your thoughts

