Chocolate Ganache Tart

If you’re racking your brain about what to get mom for mother’s day, let me suggest you give the above picture chocolate ganache tart some deep and serious thought. Especially if mom happens to be a chocolate lover.

This tart was the centerpiece dessert of C’s birthday celebration, and the cake was devoured by all at the party. There really are only two tricks to this – both could be deemed “no-brainers”. While I was well aware of the first “trick”, I finally caught on to the second this go around.

The tricks:

Use high quality chocolate, especially if the chocolate is the centerpiece of your dish. For the tart, I used Valrhona 68% dark chocolate.

Use the right sized tart pan! Yes, I knowobvious! I approached this project with some trepidation, because in the past, my tart dough never seemed to cover the entire pan, causing me to stretch the dough thin and secretly curse the recipes that stated the dough was easy to handle. Then there was the day I checked the size of my tart pan. Turns out, operator error all along!

Chocolate Ganache Tart – from Dorie Greenspans “Baking: From My Home to Yours”

One of the great things about the book this recipe came from is the endless variations provided by Dorie. I’d originally planned to work one of them into the recipe, but time got the better the of me. Thinking back, I wonder if adding a layer of toasted hazelnuts and caramel would have been too rich for us; on the other hand, it still sounds sinful and a perfect combination of some of my favorite flavors. Check out the book for complete information about variations and the recipe!

2 comments

Share your thoughts

