Pea Soup!

If the “blame” for peas being my favorite vegetable goes to anyone, it goes to my Omi. As a child, Omi would mash up potatoes, butter, milk, and peas into a concotion that was not only delicious, but got my sister and I to eat out vegetables. Now, as an adult, I eat peas without the need to mash them with potatoes and butter. I will eat them frozen,  Le Seur Peas straight from a can, and peas are my go-to addition to pastas, rice dices, couscous dishes – basically anything that needs a spot of vegetable.

When I found this pea soup from Aran at Canelle Et Vanille, my inner pea addict had to try it. The recipe is simple, drawing on the natural flavors of the veggies. For my version, I substituted a few items for what I had in the fridge: a large bunch of green onions for leeks, and spinach for watercress.

We enjoyed this on Monday – which has unofficially become Meatless Monday, with a side of toasted whole grain bread spread with salted and shallot peppered ricotta. Another plus to this recipe – I finally used the blender we’ve had for a year. Usually, it’s Casey’s go to kitchen appliance of choice for his AM smoothies. Now he may have to fight me for it!

Pea Soup, with Zucchini and Spinach

adapted from Canelle Et Vanille

  • 2 tablesoons olive oil
  • 1 celery stalk, diced
  • 1 large bunch of green onions, whites and tender green parts diced
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 2 medium zucchinis, diced
  • 1/2 teaspoon coriander
  • 1/4 teaspoon garam masala
  • 2 cups vegetable broth
  • 1 cup for fresh or frozen peas (I used frozen)
  • 1 cup of fresh spinach
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • Sour cream or Greek yogurt
  • Cilantro, to garnish

In a medium pot, heat the olive oil. Add the celery, green onion, and garlic, and sauté for 2 to 3 minutes, until the onion begins to soften. This is a great time to prep and dice the zucchinis. Add diced zucchini to the pot, and cook for about 5 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Add spices at this time.

Add the broth, and simmer for 15 minutes, until the zucchini is soft. Add the peas and spinach. Cover, and simmer for another 3 to 5 minutes. Allow soup to cool slightly, then puree carefully in a blender. (Note, I did try an immersion blender, but it didn’t work as well). 

Serve soup with yogurt/sour cream, freshly chopped cilantro leaves, and freshly ground black pepper. You can also store the soup in the refrigerator for dinner the next day.

Share your thoughts

