Tart Lemon Yogurt Cake

Lemon Yogurt CakeWell, I haven’t made a Christmas cookie yet. Maybe next weekend. But, I am working my way through those five pounds of lemons (slowly and surely). Here’s a bright cake to have with your tea in the morning or as an afternoon snack (also with tea?).

The recipe came to me through pinterest, that wonderful/horrible online pin-board where I find minutes turn quickly to hours. Now, maybe I’m spending too much time on pinterest, watching TV, or am overloaded with the five books I’m currently reading to quickly meet my 50 in 2012 goal; but, let me tell you, dear readers, that I almost put the cake in the oven with out adding the eggs.

I know. Right?

I’m certain when you make this, you’ll remember the eggs before opening the oven door! I know you’ll enjoy this light, refreshing cake amongst so many heavier holiday treats.

Lemon Yogurt Cake, adapted from Bake Your Day

  • 1 1/2 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/8 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, softened
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 3/4 cup 2% Greek Yogurt (I used Trader Joe’s)
  • 1 ish Tbs Lemon Juice
  • 1 tsp lavender extract
  • Zest of 1 small lemon

Preheat the oven to 325. Grease a loaf pan and set aside.

Combine the flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt. Mix together with a fork and set aside.

Using a stand mixer, combine butter and sugar and cream until fluffy, about 5-7 minutes. Add the eggs. Slowly add the dry ingredients, alternating with the Greek yogurt. Add the lemon juice, lemon zest, and lavender extract. 

Pour batter into the pan and bake for 45-55 minutes, until the edges brown and a toothpick comes out clean. Coal in the pan for 15 minutes, then transfer to a wire rack.

Lemon glaze is optional.

Lemon Cake

2 comments
  1. Leah said:

    Looks and sounds delicious! I love lemon flavored desserts – thanks for sharing. 🙂

    Like

    • Katie said:

      Thank you, Leah! It makes a nice accompaniment to my morning coffee. Hope you enjoy.

      Like

Share your thoughts

