Ginger and Brussels Sprout Potstickers

Ginger and Brussel Sprout Potstickers | Kitchen Notes

I’m on an Asian-flavor kick as of late. For lunch I’ve been making delicious salads with veggies and either a spicy peanut or sesame dressing. We’re rotating in an Asian – fusion dish into almost every week’s dinner rotation. I keep wanting to go to the Asian restaurant near work and order their vermicelli noodle bowl. I’m apparently crushing on Asian flavors.

Which means I took myself on adventure and spent an hour and half of my weekend home making potstickers. (Confession time: cooking time is also where I catch up on all my ABC dramas. Maybe that explains my lack of photography while cooking?). The short of the story is this: potstickers are delicious. Once made, they freeze well and cook up speedy on a weeknight you forgot to plan something. To make them though, it took my inexperienced self one hour to fill 20 little potstickers. Maybe if I hadn’t been catching up on Revenge, this would have gone quicker.

Ginger and Brussel Sprouts | Kitchen Notes

The trickiest part for me was the folding and pinching of the potstickers themselves. Too much water, and the wrapper gets too gummy, sticking to the work surface. Too little water, and the wrapper doesn’t stick together. I managed to get into a routine of making two potstickers, wiping down the work surface to dry it, and restarting the process. In my research, I found The Steamy Kitchen and the source recipe to be helpful in the process of actually folding the potstickers. I defer to their wisdom for directions.

Am I proud of my accomplishment? Absolutely! Will you find me making these by hand again soon? Maybe for a special occasion. Or a potsicker making party with friends.

Ginger and Brussel Sprouts | Kitchen Notes

 

Ginger and Brussel Sprouts Potstickers, loosely adapted from Naturally Ella

  • 2 tsp sesame oil
  • 1/2 small onion, finely diced
  • 1 1/4 cup of shredded Brussels Sprouts (about 3/4 of bag of the Trader Joe’s pre-shredded)
  • Juice of 1 lime
  • 1 tablespoon freshly minced ginger
  • 2 generous tablespoons chopped parsley
  • 2 generous tablespoons chopped cilantro
  • 20 pot sticker wrappers

For cooking the pot stickers:

  • 1 tablespoon sesame or canola oil
  • Gyoza, soy sauce, or other dipping sauce
  • Garnishes – lettuce, freshly chopped herbs, or sesame seeds

In a large skillet or saute pan, head the sesame oil. Add the onion and cook for about 2-4 minutes on medium heat, until translucent. Add in the next three ingredients. Cook until the Brussels Sprouts are tender (4-10 minutes, depending on if yo shredded the sprouts yourself or went with the pre-shredded).  Stir in the parsley and cilantro. Remove from heat.

For actually making the potstickers, I am no expert. So I’m going to link you to the source recipe and to Steam Kitchen, where Ella and Jaden do a much better job than I of illustrating the steps.

Once the potstickers are folded, we’re at the point of being able to freeze them. If that’s the route we’re taking, line a baking sheet with plastic wrap. Place the potstickers on the sheet, making sure none of them are touching. Freeze for at least 1-2 hours. Once frozen, the potstickers can be transferred to an air tight container. To cook with frozen potstickers, follow the steps below. There is no need to thaw the out.

For cooking, heat the oil over medium heat. Place the potstickers in the pan with space around. Cook for about 2 – 2 1/2 minutes (if using frozen; for unfrozen, take about a minute off).   Your looking for the bottom to be browned. Pour in enough water to simmer the potstickers (1/4 to 1/3 cup, depending on pan size). Place a lid on the pan and simmer for 3-5 minutes, until the wrappers are tender.

Serve with your choice of toppings.

Potstickers |Kitchen Notes

5 comments
  1. I’ve made my own sushi and now I really want to make my own potstickers – they look so good!!

    Like

    • Katie said:

      Good luck! Please let me know how you enjoy them — I recently purchase some store made ones to try; just to see if making them makes them tasty better 🙂

      Like

Share your thoughts

