Blueberry Galette

Blueberry Galette | Kitchen Notes

It’s a truth universally acknowledged, that I cannot make a pie crust. Given this truth, I almost thought this recipe was going to be a kitchen fail. It involved me rolling out dough – always a scary site. Me not having the exact ingredients for a baking recipe and substituting – iffy with baking, but my forte in cooking. The saving grace of these two potentially disastrous truths: a galette looks perfectly beautiful with a more rustic aesthetic.

The other saving graces involved here: lovely, fresh, ripe, and delicious blueberries. Freshly whipped cream to enjoy the galette with. And family to share it with. Families are generally so forgiving when you bake them something.

If pie crusts or rolled doughs aren’t your thing: I get it. Really…I get it. I still recall Thanksgivings at my mom’s where I put Casey in charge of making the crust for pecan and pumpkin pies. That’s how deep my aversion to rolled doughs goes. For giggles though, and because it’s the weekend…I encourage you to give this a shot. You’ll see in the recipe below where I made substitutions and how my rolling didn’t go exactly as the recipe stated.

Bottom line: the galette still turned out delicious. I’m not so concerned with technique here; I just want to eat delicious food!

Blueberry Galette | Kitchen Notes

I’m sharing this recipe as it was written, with my substitutions in (parenthesis). 

Blueberry Galette, adapted from Smitten Kitchen

  • 1 and 1/4 cups all purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 and 1/2 teaspoons sugar
  • Zest of half a lemon
  • 8 tablespoons of cold unsalted butters. Cut into pieces.
  • 1/4 cup ricotta, yogurt or sour cream (1/4 + a little more cup of milk)
  • 3 to 4 tablespoons of cold water

In a large bowl, mix together the flour, sugar, and zest. With a pastry blender, word the butter into the mixture, until it resembles a meal; you’re looking for the smallest bits of butter to be about pea sized. Stir in the ricotta (or milk in my substitute) and the water together in a separate dish. Knead the liquids into the flour mixture, forming a rough ball. Wrap in plastic and flatten disc. Chill for at least 1 hour in the fridge.

  • 2 cups of blueberries
  • 3 tablespoons sugar
  • 2 tablespoons of cornstarch
  • Lemon juice (about 1/2 lemon)
  • 1 egg yolk – for the glaze
  • Coarse sugar (such as turbinado) – for the glaze

Combine blueberries, sugar, corn starch and lemon juice together. Allow to sit. I like to mash a few of the blueberries, so that the sugar and blueberries begin to combine more quickly.

Putting it all together:

Heat the oven to 400 degrees. Flour your work service and roll our the galette to the best looking circle you can form. The original recipe stated a 13-15 diameter circle. I was lucky if I got 10 inches in diameter. Transfer this circle to a parchment lined backing sheet.

Add the blueberry filling, leaving enough room for a border (about 2 inches). Fold the border over the filling, pleating the edges here and there to make it fit.

In a separate bowl, whisk the egg yolk. Using a brush, brush the whisked yolk over the exposed crust. Sprinkle the turbinado sugar over.

Bake from 30 minutes. Remove and allow to cool for at least 5 minutes before serving. We waited until dinner that evening and serve the galette with freshly whipped cream.

Have a barbecue this weekend, serve this for dessert. Or skip the barbecue and just make this for dessert. Breakfast. Just because.

Blueberry Galette

Share your thoughts

