Archive

Daily Archives: December 27, 2010

If you know anything about me, you probably know that I love a curry, particularly a good curry, but even a mediocre one. I went through a phase where I put the delicious mix of spices on everything. Risotto? Check. Roasted veggies? Check. Mashed potatoes? Check. Stir Fry? Check. And so on it goes. My college roommates and Casey were most likely sick of curry by the end of that semester.

After coming home and diving straight in to book 48 of 50 for 2010, I realized with great horror that it was 7pm and dinner wasn’t even on my brain.  The mash-up that occurred is in no ways traditional, but I used staples I have in my pantry, which is not very exotic. The one exotic item is a spice mix picked up in Paris at a small Indian import store. To substitute, I would add a pinch of ground cardamom, or a few whole cardamom pods, and experiment with different spices until you find your perfect curry.You can also add more garam masala or curry mix to substitute.

Monday Night Pantry Curry

1 teaspoon scoop of special Paris spice mix

1 heaping teaspoon of Thai Kitchen green curry paste

1/2 teaspoon garam masala

1/2 teaspoon turmeric

1 can rinsed organic chick peas

2 shredded, roasted, and tandoori spiced chicken thighs (left over from a previous night, feel free to omit)

1/2 bag frozen mixed vegetables

1 small yellow onion

3 cloves of garlic, thinly chopped or pressed

1/2 can coconut milk

1. Dice the onion and saute over medium heat with spices and 1 teaspoon olive oil until onion is translucent.

2. Add the chickpeas and chicken (if using). Saute to combine flavors. Combine the frozen vegetables, and saute until vegetables are mostly thaw.

3. Pour in the 1/2 can of coconut milk. A whole can may be used if you prefer a more liquid consistency. Cook together briefly, about 2 minutes on medium heat. Reduce heat to low and simmer for 10 to 15 minutes.

4. Serve over brown rice, with Naan bread, and garnished with freshly chopped cilantro.