Archive

Daily Archives: November 19, 2012

Useless piece of trivia: my two all-time favorite donuts are glazed and maple. Why did I share this? Because I’ve decided my affection for maple glazes drew me to this recipe for pumpkin muffins. Or maybe it was the fact that I’ve never made a pumpkin muffin…or that they looked delicious?

Regardless, it doesn’t really matter. I know we all have Thanksgiving on the brain, with turkeys and dressings/stuffings, sides, and pies crowding our dreams. I’d rather have those items than excel tables (that happened once, it was mighty disturbing). If you just happen to love pumpkin and don’t want its delicious flavor to end after Thursday, gives this a whirl for Saturday or Sunday morning breakfast. They’re nearly effortless – no stand mixer needed.

Pumpkin Muffins, from Donal Skehan

Forgive me, dear readers, as I did not convert from metric to standard. Long ago, I purchased a nifty universal measuring cup, and it’s been my crutch ever since. 

  • 240 grams of all purpose flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 200 grams of granulated sugar – I happened to have some infused with a vanilla bean (weekend impulse) laying around and used that, but regular, non-vanilla infused works perfectly!
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon (or 1/4 tsp garam masala if you don’t have ground cloves)
  • 80 ml vegetable or canola oil
  • 400g of pumpkin puree (almost a full 15 oz can of Libby’s)
  • 2 large eggs

Heat the oven 350 degrees Farenheit (180 Celsius if we’re using metric scales here). Line a muffin tin. Put all the dry ingredients into a large bowl. Add the we ingredients, starting with eggs, oil, and then pumping. Mix until you have a smooth batter. As with all quick breads, don’t over mix.  Portion the batter into 12 muffin tins. Bake for about 20-22 minutes.

Cool on a wire rack until completely cool. Then drizzle with glaze.

Maple Glaze

  • 90 grams of confectioners sugar
  • 2 1/2 to 3 tablespoons of maple syrup

In a small bowl, combine confections sugar and maple syrup, stirring until thickened. Dip a fork in the glaze and drizzle over the muffins. If you’d like more glaze on your muffins, use a spook to portion to the glaze over the top.

*Note: you can also add walnuts to both the muffins and glaze.